Rustenburg: MEC for Finance, Ms Motlalepula Rosho has introduced the Provincial EXCO Representatives (PERs) that have been appointed to lead the eight municipalities that are under mandatory and discretionary intervention to implement the Financial Recovery Plans (FRP).


MEC Rosho indicated that the Executive Council resolved to place Naledi, Dr RSM, Madibeng, Kgetlengrivier, Ramotshere Moiloa, Tswaing, Ditsobotla and Mahikeng, under Mandatory Intervention in line with Section 139(5) (a) and (c) of the Constitution read together with Section 139 of the Municipal Finance Management Act (MFMA). Maquassi Hills Local Municipality has been placed under discretionary intervention.


The PERs act on behalf of the Executive Council and are placed at each municipality to provide strategic leadership and guidance for the implementation FRP. The process to appoint the PERs started in 2019 and appointments were effected at the end of 2022/2023 financial year. The PER’s have been appointed for period of three (03) years which involved a comprehensive transparent due processes.


MEC Rosho said “the PERs are required to ensure that municipalitites will ultimately create a conducive environment to generate income, comply to financial legislations and improve service delivery.


The PER’s report to MEC of Finance and MEC of COGTA. They are required amongst others to do quality assurance of monthly and quarterly review reports which will be processed by the MEC’s  for EXCO’s attention; maintain a record of decision making processes taken by the municipal councils and accounting officer; ensure appropriate corrective measures and control measures; assist in the recruitment and selection processes for the appointment of senior managers and accounting officers as well as provide strategic participation and stakeholder engagements in the affairs of the municipality.”


National Treasury Technical Assistant, Keorapetse Tumagole indicated that mindset and culture change is crucial to the success in the implemetation the FRP. “We are implementing change to achieve a future state that involves a specific desired outcome to ensure that the collapse in service delivery is turned around”.The PERs must create the desire to embrace the change in the environment of respective municipalities, he said.


Shirley Lesupi will be leading Kgetlengrivier while Pringle Raedani has been appointed for Madibeng local municipality. The other PERs that have been introduced are Muthutao Sigidi for Ditsobotla, Mojalefa Matlole for Dr RSM, Matshidiso Mogale for Ramotshere Moiloa, Elen Moncho for Tswaing and Tshenolo Lefutshwe for Naledi.


As part of the support to the other municipalities which are also in financial distress as indicated above,  Makatisha Phofedi was introduced as the PER for Maquassi Hills as part of the discretionary mandatory intervention. Similar support would also be provided to Maquassi Hills with the sole objectives of ensuring implementation of the financial recovery plan.



Issued by North West Provincial Treasury. For more information contact 018 388 4048/3239


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *